mitchellirons

rough notes

music geekery: it's all over now, jack-ass.

leave a comment »

When I think of Beck’s Odelay, I let my mind get stuck on the awesome Hammond organ sounds on The New Pollution and Where It’s At.   When I listen to Odelay, though, I let my head get stuck on quite possibly the best track on the album, Jack-Ass.

Most people dig Jack-Ass when they hear it.  But only the some of the true fans (read: geeks) understand that its pop-music sensibilities are derived from its looped sample of It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue.

Some of these true fans (read: geeks) think that It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue is a Van Morrison song.  It’s not.  As only a smaller segment of the true fans (read: geeks) above know, it’s actually performed by Them, the Belfast band that Van Morrison played with until going his own way in ’65 or ’66.  If I’m correct, It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue may be the last song that Them cut before Van cut out for good.

And only the smallest segment of those true fans (read: geeks) from two paragraphs ago will know that this looped sample from It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue by Them (rather than Van Morrison) is actually a cover of one of Bob Dylan’s last studio tracks laid down as a folk singer.

I think it was The Operator who one once told me that Dylan’s It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue is a good-bye to Joen Baez. Bartosz, on the other hand, might have been the one to suggest it was really a declamation to the folkies who Dylan was about to abandon.  My mind is hazy on that piece though, and since Bartosz preferred speed metal over everything else (much to my chagrin, amusement and bewilderment), I’m willing to bend on where I heard that information.  Either way, the argument that it is part of the Great Dylan Divide only adds to the song’s mythology.

Thanks, Beck, Van, and Belfast.  And thanks especially to you, R. Zimmerman.

Written by mitchellirons

August 8, 2009 at 12:14 pm

Posted in blog

Leave a Reply

