mitchellirons

rough notes

the darling buds of march.

with 3 comments

according to the calendar, spring officially sprang today.  i know we won’t see much “nice” weather until June since the spring really is more like The Rainy Season out here, but all the same, I still added a little checkmark to my mental list of good things that finally have been gained this month.

i’m not a big fan of the winter. i try to make the most of it by going to movies and staying cozy indoors, but generally i prefer The Better Weather that the summer affords.  I think the only good thing about the winter are ice rinks and ice skates and wool coats – and even the third item on that list can become circumspect, especially when it’s late in the season or if you find yourself on public transit.  With such a small list of benefits to the winter, I tend to look toward the start of spring with mild interior celebration.  I start counting down early, quite early – sometimes in the middle of january.  And when the day arrives, I tend to have arguments with the pineapples about putting away all the winter coats and sweaters and whatnot, even if it is still freezing (literally freezing) outside the door. i want winter to end and spring to arrive and the transition to be instantaneous and seamless and clean and without odd circumstances.

In some regards then, the start of spring is actually a bit of a disappointment.  i realize that what i want is not really the start of spring but actually a late june afternoon (or a late may afternoon back home, in a different time and place).  it would be pretty damn awesome for March 19 to give way to June 24, especially if that June 24 was a June 24 in Mtl, what with Ste-Jean-de-Baptiste or Fete Nationale (we don’t discriminate based on your nationalist leanings over here – we just like a good party), or if that March 19 could give way to a May 2-4 weekend in cottage country.  I can’t get either here, but that’s okay.  So long as I can go still tell the long cold nights of January, February, and early March to sod off and make way for something else – anyhing else – then I think I’m game.

yes.

Written by mitchellirons

March 20, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Posted in blog

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. spring springs
    spring sprang
    spring has sprung

    Nice touch. =) I might have said “spring sprung.”

    William Matheson

    March 20, 2009 at 11:48 pm

  2. i was making a point to play with the consonance in an atypical manner. but i’m glad you noticed.. 🙂

    mitchellirons

    March 20, 2009 at 11:54 pm

  3. You have made me glad that I have booked my flight back for may. I hope I don’t miss all of the cherry blossoms.

    I will.

    ange ella

    March 21, 2009 at 10:54 am


Leave a Reply

