mitchellirons

rough notes

Shouting lager, lager, lager

leave a comment »

In all your inner space, indeed, boy..

So there I was, a few moment ago, in my quaint north end flat, reading articles by various management critics who are still trying to defend Shell and SPDC after all these years, when a great little song on the radio caught my attention.

When I say radio, I actually mean last.fm, an internet music portal I’ve tuned to for a number of years. And when I say a great little song, I mean Born Slippy. Most of you will remember it from Trainspotting in 1996, starring old Ben Kenobi as a recovering smack addict who has a brash, yet endearing Scottish accent. Use the force, Ben.

But when I mention Born Slippy today, I don’t mean the original track by Underworld, or the shorter NUXX mix that has lyrics. No, I mean an awesome cover by Barefoot. I don’t know Barefoot, and I didn’t even know she/they existed before ten minutes ago. All I know is that I heard a sultry voicing singing “lager, lager, lager, singing lager, lager, lager” from my tinny notebook speakers, and that voice certainly didn’t sound like anything I’ve heard on Coronation Street lately. It’s a great voice, and a great song, which I’m happy to share with y’all (praise youtube). She’s got some Tori Amos attitude going on there, but filled with a little more smoke and brandy:

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D7EuV5n6XUE

To that end, I might as well link to Underworld’s original .NUXX. They still are movers and shakers, even if they spend more time with their advertising firm than they do in the clubs any more.

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JTDdSm67Rsk&

Written by mitchellirons

March 16, 2009 at 2:54 pm

Leave a Reply

