mitchellirons

rough notes

Gmapping Nova Scotia

with 2 comments

It’s the beginning of Reading Week, and I’ve decided to have a little fun with Google Maps. Below is the beginning of a Nova Scotia electoral map. I’m building it by spiralling out from Halifax in a clock-wise direction. When it’s all said and done, I should land in Glace Bay, of all places. Since I’m still in the Hali region, it looks like the NDP have a solid majority in the House. We can dream, can’t we?

The little caption boxes are empty right now. First, I want to set down all the ridings. Once that’s said and done, I’ll fill in simple details about which MLA is where, with some hotlinks to their websites. I may then do another map showing the popular vote for each MLA in each riding. I’m a big proponent of PR (and I’m a fan of all this STV business that B.C. keeps thinking about), so it might be neat to show how the current minority gov’t – on its last legs – hardly has a majority of the votes in the province.

anyway.

Written by mitchellirons

February 21, 2009 at 1:13 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great project. Can you do Kings-Hants sooner rather than later? 🙂 Look forward to visiting again when it’s finished.

    Ww

    March 24, 2009 at 10:54 am

  2. Do you happen to have finished this map? 🙂 I’ve been seeking a digital, geospatially accurate version of the electoral boundaries for Nova Scotia for some time!

    Abby

    May 13, 2010 at 12:14 pm


Leave a Reply

