mitchellirons

rough notes

Crashing Bores

with one comment

I’ve been fairly busy this week doing coursework, which has made me one of those crashing bores our world is full of. This is because next week the hammer falls on the term, when several due dates will collide and possibly rip a hole in the space-time continuum. Either that, or I’ll continue to eat horribly, get sick, and then miss out on The Oxford’s showing of _White Christmas_ on the 14th. Given the options, I’d rather see the hole torn in time, because I’ve never actually seen _White Christmas_, and everyone loves a good Christmas miracle.. er… musical.

So this week I was one of probably a dozen people or so who applied to do consulting work, either with or for one of the Faculty’s associate deans. In spite of my application, I’m not so sure what I think of this prospect. I’m a fairly busy person as it is, so I’m not sure if I should take on another project (that is, if I was lucky enough to have it offered to me). The terms would allow me to turn it into an independent study option, thereby granting me both credit and a paycheque, so in some ways it would balance itself out in the end. And, in many ways I do have a serious interest in the subject matter: it turns out I unknowingly wrote wrote on the subject on a theoretical level three weeks ago..

..But the thing is I do have a good idea where my own breaking point lies, and I think I may be head toward the red-zone if I were to go down this road. Taking part in the MA nearly destroyed me last year (it got to my person, if not my reason), and I’m real happy to have not felt that way at all this year. There have been moments, yes, a few moments when things almost got the best of me, but I still made it through in one piece, with incredible results to show for it. I suppose time will tell on this one – it is premature to even speak of this stuff since all I did today was merely submit the application with 6 minutes to spare before the deadline. I suppose, in the end I’ll just have to remind myself not to say “hells yes!” if I were offered the position. I can’t just take whatever project comes my way anymore and say “I’ll burn that bridge when I get to it” when I consider of what issues might arise from the decision. I may be burnt enough from all those past experiences..

(For what it’s worth, the godforsaken MA is going to be completed by hook or crook. I’ve been to the trenches, I’ve been to the front, and I’ve made it back. but I went my frickin’ medal. I need something to show for that year I’ve given over to academe, and I will get it. Just not right now.)

Written by mitchellirons

November 28, 2008 at 8:56 pm

Posted in blog

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If circumstances don’t work in you favour for Dec. 14, take solace in the fact Bing Crosby was a nasty dude who abused his kids.
    Your recent playlist compliments this post well.

    JWG

    November 29, 2008 at 2:35 pm


Leave a Reply

