mitchellirons

rough notes

Bedside Reading

leave a comment »

We’re moving. I’m packing. Here are the books and magazines I found on my nighttable. I’m not much of a bedside-reader – I tend to fall asleep right away, reardless of my interest level in the book. Nonetheless, here’s what I have been glossing before going to sleep over the past couple months. Items are in no particular order. Further, placement on the list does not mean to imply I have completely read the text before sleeping.

Books
The Epic of Gilgamesh
Homer, Odyssey
Updike, Gertrude and Claudius
Aristotle – Nichomachean Ethics
Horatio Hornblower, Midshipman
Leonard Cohen, Selected Poems, 1956-68
Julia Briggs, This Stage Play World: England 1560-1625
Greek Tragedies vol 1. – Richmond & Lattimore, ed, tr.

Magazines
Military History December 2003 – Caesar’s First Great Campaign
Harper’s Magazine May 2004 – What Democracy? The Case For Abolishing the United States Senate
Spin 2003 – Dave Matthews*


* – I hate Dave Matthews, his band, his music, his haircut, his pretense, his concert in central park, his family and his guitar. I don’t remember reading this magazine – I must have blocked the entire episode, out of disgust. I must have shamed myself into reading it, and then had to wipe clean any memory of that PUTRID moment.

Written by mitchellirons

June 21, 2004 at 10:33 pm

Posted in 499869, literature

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

