mitchellirons

rough notes

People

leave a comment »

I Ran into Stephen Parks today, on Spring Garden. He’s just come back from St. John’s.Stephen Parks is a rather unassuming twenty-something. He takes what little money he has, and travels the continent. Then, he writes ten-page blurbs about particular towns, and sells them on street corners. I met him today on Spring Garden, outside the Shopper’s Drug Mart. His book about St. John’s isn’t anything spectacular.

But its still a worthwhile investment, for me at least. You see, I first met Stephen Parks three years ago, outside BookCity on Bloor near Bathurst, around 11:30PM. I had just bought some books, or maybe had been just browsing, I can’t remember now. Anyway, Stephen approached me to buy his latest installment, about which city I can’t remember. I bought the book, but didn’t ever read it. Hmpf. Its now in a box with the other half of my collection, in St. Catharines.

It was interesting to cross paths with this fellow again. If I didn’t have to work later this afternoon, I would have suggested we head out for lunch and a beer or two.. Anyhow, yeah, Stephen Parks. If ever you run into him, where ever you are, be sure to say hello for me. He’s a good guy.

Written by mitchellirons

February 3, 2003 at 7:26 pm

Posted in 499869

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

