mitchellirons

rough notes

not so mushy anymore.

leave a comment »

So I bought some books this evening.

First, Life of Pi. Hey, why not? When a book is judged to be the best in the commonwealth, its worth a shot. Besides, I think I’ll get a kick out of its fantastic setting…

Second, (and the real reason for the post), is Christian Bok’s Eunoia. You might have heard of this book – its a compilation of poems, all written with only one vowel. In short, there are five main chapters – Chapter A, E, I, O, U. I read about this book in the Globe a year ago, and have seen it featured in Hot Type once or twice, and it looks like much fun. Bok won the 2002 Griffin Prize for this work, and it seems well deserved..

(n.b. Bok retells the Iliad in Chapter E. Its incredible…)

An excerpt:

Chapter I (For Dick Higgins):

Writing is inhibiting. Sighing, I sit, scribbling in ink this pidgin script. I sing with nihilistic witticism, disciplining signs with triffling gimmicks – impish hijinks with highlight stick sigils. Isn’t it glib? . . . I dismiss nitpicking criticism which flirts with philistinism. I bitch; I kibitz – griping whilst criticizing dimwits, sniping whilst indicting nimwits, dismissing simplistic thinking, in which philippic wit is still illicit.

My brain is not so mushy anymore.

Written by mitchellirons

October 25, 2002 at 2:13 am

Leave a Reply

